Defending the Constitution at New York’s Ratification Convention, June-July 1788 (Hamilton 58)

Ratification, celebration, fortification, condemnation, procreation. For the Constitution to take effect, nine of thirteen states had to ratify it. By late May 1788, eight states had done so: Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, and South Carolina. Rhode Island … Continue reading